Marc Djokic

Marc began his violin studies at the age of six with his father, violinist Philippe Djokic. He has been the recipient of several awards and scholarships including the Kiwanis Festival of Music Rose Bowl Prize, the Hudson Community Scholarship, the Martha Holden Jennings Foundation Scholarship Award, and several NSTT Awards, including the prestigious Raymond Simpson Award, and the Lieutenant Governor's Award.

Simon Shaw

Simon Shaw graduated with many awards and honours, including four Talent Trust scholarships, in the spring of 2007 from the Newark and Sherwood School of Violin Making and Repair, Newark, England. This institution is one of the foremost violin making schools in the world. Simon is now a professional luthier practicing in Halifax.

Natalie Alcorn

It is amazing to know that there are so many wonderful people who invest so much time and effort because they truly care about the successful development of our futures as artists. I am so thankful to have such support from the Nova Scotia Talent Trust- it is incredibly encouraging and helpful on so many levels.

Marielle Groven

The Nova Scotia Talent Trust has supported me every step of the way, from my earliest beginnings in the study of music to my current pursuit of a master's degree in music composition at McGill. Thanks to their generous support, I have been given the means to realize my dream of making a career in music as a composer and arranger of music. For this, I am deeply grateful.

Denise Djokic

Cellist Denise Djokic is one of the most exciting talents of her generation and has thrilled audiences worldwide with the youthful vigour, confidence and passion of her playing.

Congratulations to the NSTT Special Award Winners 2012

December 19, 2012

Photo: First row left to right:

Jocelyn (Lan-Fen) Yang (Raymond Simpson Award), Rosanna Harris (Portia White Award), Francesca Nardi (Robert G. Jackson Award), Reeny Smith(MATS Award)

Second row left to right:

Wayne Burns (Theatre Nova Scotia Award), Jenna Richards (Tietje Zonneveld Award), Andrew Boudreau (Chico Berardi Award), John Atkinson father of Erin Atkinson (Janice Merritt Flemming Award)

Some award winners weren't able to attend the ceremony due to various University schedules:

Charley Young winner of the Lieutenant Governor Award and the Charlotte Wilson-Hammond/VANS Award.

Lauren Spalding winner of the RBC Emerging Artist Award and the Shelagh Mackenzie Award 

Evan Mounce winner of the Kenneth Elloway Award

The Special Awards Ceremony was held at Government House in Halifax. Thank you to His Honour Brigadier-General The Honourable J.J. Grant, CMM, ONS, CD (Ret'd) Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia for hosting us.

Our Newsletter gives you more information on the Special Award winners 2012.


© 2017 Nova Scotia Talent Trust. All rights reserved. Charitable Reg. 88948 3392 RR0001

Halifax Website Design: by immediaC